Getting in on old occupation anyone been sucessful??

Guest chief-a-roo

Guest chief-a-roo

We have been told that my husband who is an engineer by trade and worked in the yacht industry as a chief engineer, can get in using this old career, as he has now moved to work in technical sales and has been for the last 5 years, selling to the engineering sectors.

Our agent has told us we can get his assesment based on engineering and get a 60 point occupation where as technical sales is 50 and leaves us short.. she then said after we get the 60 we can get him 10 points for experience if we can prove that his current position wouldn't be possible without the engineering background, which is true??

has anyone else tried to get in via this method??

We are just about to sign up for this assesment just thought it was worth asking??

THANKS!!

Hi there,

Can't really advise, but my situation is very similar. I am currently employed as a draughtsman, which comes under Mechanical Engineering Associate Professional on the SOL and carries 40 points. I can only muster 80 points in total. My original occupation/trade was maintenance fitter, which carries 60 points and is also on the skills in demand list which qualifies for an extra 20. This would give me the required 120 points for the 136 visa. I had about 13 years post apprenticeship experience in this trade but have been draughting for about 9 years now so I don't know if this experience can be counted. I understand for a 60 point trade you need to have worked in it for 12 out of the previous 18 months, although you still get some points for experience in any trade/profession on the SOL. I am even considering going back to fitting for 12 months then applying for the 136.

Sorry I can't be more help. Hopefully someone out there can answer both our questions :!:

Good luck :)

• 4 weeks later...