Any single parents that have moved?

YogaLilly

Hi everyone, 

I was hoping to hear some stories or get some advice from those that may have been in the same boat as me. 
I’m a single mum to a 6 year old, I currently work as a medical professional and a senior lecturer. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to move to Australia. When I was a kid, my parents would buy my books about life in Oz and it honestly just spoke to my soul. Anyway, life took over and I ended up staying in the UK, getting married, having a child, and getting divorced. I have a pretty good life here, family support, friends etc. I feel like I’ve outgrown the UK though, my job is the same, the weather significantly affects my mood, there’s very little to do in the town I live in, and the cost of living is ridiculous. I visited Australia for the first time last year (Queensland) and I loved everything about it. Granted I was on holiday, but I could really see myself living there. If it was just me, I would have started the visa application process immediately , however with my daughter, I really need to think about what’s best for her. I have a good relationship with her dad, who said he would be fine with us moving over there and we could work out a schedule where she would come and visit for extended periods. My parents are supportive and said they would visit us when they could. I have some friends over there that would help with childcare/ general support. 
I guess I was just wondering, have any other single parents made the leap to Oz and it’s worked out? On one hand I feel my daughter would have a better quality of life in lots of respects, and obviously I would, but on the other I’m anxious about taking her away from family for extended periods of time, as well as worrying about such a major life change for her at a young age when there’s no guarantee it would work? Hearing others’ stories would be really useful! Thank you in advance 🙏🏽 

7 hours ago, YogaLilly said: