Any Employer Sponsored Applicants out there?

I’m wondering if there are any particular limitations/benefits that others have found with going via the sponsored route (temporary or permanent)?

I’m hoping to go to Queensland, but as they aren’t opening for offshore nomination this financial year, so I have started exploring sponsorship. I have a couple of recruitment agencies (I’m a nurse) ringing me later this week and am thinking through what to ask them. 

It would be really helpful to hear others’ experiences or thoughts 🙂 

Edited by Cobs_Ahoy
Typo

I can't see any downsides to the 186 DE (permanent employer sponsored).   Sure, you are stuck with that employer for two years:  however, no matter how bad the job is, you can probably grit your teeth and get through it, because it's worth it - once the two years is up, you've got total freedom and permanent residence, what more could you want?   The other bonus is that the employer will offer you a relocation package of some kind, whereas on a 189/190,491, you've got to bear the whole expense yourself.

The 482 (temporary employer sponsored) is a whole other kettle of fish.  A 482 is just a temporary employment contract, effectively.  You come to Australia to work for that employer for 2 to 4 years.  If the company runs into trouble or restructures, you're only a temp contractor so you'll be first out - they are allowed to terminate your contract early if they want. You might get the contract renewed once.  Then you go home.   So it's insecure.  

Don't get me wrong, I think the 482 is a great opportunity to experience life in Australia for a few years.  But that's how you need to treat it - make sure you get some relocation expenses, and do your budget so you know you won't end up spending your life savings on the adventure.  You don't want to end up back where you started and broke.