Health & Safety Advisor

JRichards

Hello, 

I was just wondering if there are any h&s advisors who have moved to Australia and how they did it? 

I have a degree and 2 NEBOSH certificates as well as 5 years experience working for a construction company as a health and safety advisor.

Does anyone know what visa options are available? 

So far all I can come up with is going to Australia on a WHV and try and get some contract / temp work in h&s and see if I can eventually get sponsorship. Is this do-able? 

Grateful for any help or guidance. 

Thanks,

Jess

To migrate to Australia, your occupation must be on one of the Skilled Lists.  If your occupation is not on one of the lists, you cannot migrate to Australia, full stop.   Finding an employer to sponsor you makes absolutely no difference to that rule - employers can only sponsor someone if the occupation is on one of the lists.

If the occupation is on one of the lists, you must have the qualifications and experience specified on the list, otherwise no go.  

Finally, you must be able to score enough points to be worth applying.  You must have 65 points to be allowed to apply - but it's a competition, and each year they only invite the people with the highest points.   In recent years, there have been so many people applying with 80+ points, no one else stands a chance of getting accepted. 

Yes it is confusing, and the easiest way to sort it out is to have a consultation with a migration agent.  All reputable agents will offer an initial consultation free of charge.  There are several good ones on these forums.