Gas engineer in uk

Guy stockwell

Hi can anyone help

im a gas engineer for the past 10 years in the U.K. 

lm looking to apply to move to Australia 

but filling the eol form requires my skills do how do I get them recognised is Australia for me to have enough points to move any info any help would be grateful 

Hi and welcome to the forum. 

You are jumping the gun. 

Before you lodge an eoi, you have to have a positive skills assessment. If you look at the occupations list on border.gov.au, it will have the assessing authority next to the occupation. This will involve a range of things and may include both practical and theory tests. 

You also need to calculate your points based on the criteria on the web site. You need a minimum of 60 to apply. Many people find they need to claim points for English. In which case, it isn't enough to be from the UK, you would need to take an English exam such as ILETS and score sufficient for the points being claimed. 

This all needs to be done before you lodge an eoi. 

You need to be careful with points as over claiming a single point can lead to a refusal, loss of the fee (expensive) and even a ban from reapplying. 

• Like 1

Hi 

thanks for the reply it's much appreciated, 

i think my quals would come under gas fitter which is 60 Points but some how I believe I would need them to be converted to Australian quals but wonder if I can do that in the U.K. Or need to be in Australia before hand 

You need to do a skills assessment first for your visa, then you need to convert your qualifications once you have the visa, each state has a difference licencing board so look up the licencing board in whatever state you are going.  

6 hours ago, AJ said:

You need to do a skills assessment first for your visa, then you need to convert your qualifications once you have the visa, each state has a difference licencing board so look up the licencing board in whatever state you are going.