33 UK Citizen - Moving to Sydney.

TeaPig

Hi,

I have read so much information that it is leaking out of my head and I was hoping that you good people could give me advice.

This is my situation:

I am 33 years old living in London, my girlfriend is Australian and we have been in a relationship since April 2016 and have lived together since Jan 2017. My partners visa runs out in October so we are travelling for a month and then heading to Sydney.

I work as a draftsman in the engineering industry and my first thought was to try and obtain sponsorship through an employer in Sydney. However through all the changes on the 457 Visa and various conversations with employers and agents over there this does not seem the best option.

I was told by an immigration lawyer that to apply for defacto visa in Aus we would need to prove we have lived with together for a year so I could apply for defacto in Jan 2018. My thinking was that  I could get a 3 month tourist visa and before that runs out apply for defacto and my visa would automatically go to a bridging visa awaiting confirmation of defacto allowing me to work from Feb 2018 onwards.

I have been told that we should register our relationship in NSW asap, is this correct? does it help the defacto application?

So as it seems that defacto is the way forward, my question would be, can we start the application for defacto asap and myself enter the country whilst awaiting this decision or would I still need a tourist visa?

Any advice would be most welcome.

Thank you in advance! 

Sounds good. If you have been living together since Jan 2017 and will continue to be then lodging on shore in Aus sounds decent.

Yes you should register your relationship in  NSW once you arrive in Aus (pretty sure NSW recognises this). It's does waive the 12 month cohabiting aspect iirc. It will help the application. I'd not pass up that opportunity to do so anyways. It can only be done by someone once in Aus so nothing doing till then.