Power Station Enquiry

Jon

Hello

I am currently a Control and instrumentation technician on a gas turbine power station her in the UK.

I'm just enquiring as to what the Power Station job market is looking like over there in Aus and also what kind of skills assessment must I take in order to have skills recognised as instrument technician or Panel Operator ?

Kind Regards

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi, You'll get a better answer if you post your qualifications and post qualification experience.

I am an instrumentation technician with experience as a panel operator

My qualifications are

HND Electrical and electronic engineering (Advanced Engineering Diploma in Australia)

NVQ Level three in instrumentation

Complex certified (explosive atmosphere intrinsically safe wiring installations)

I work on a gas turbine power station managing contractors, planning work flows, managing my own budgets and assisting my Engineer sourcing new equipment etc.

Thanks

Are you thinking in regards applying for a permanent visa or to obtain work as part of your whv?

Thanks for your reply. I'm thinking more in permanent Visa terms further down the line as you may already know with my other posts I am on a WHV from January if I could carry on this line of work on that visa that would be good (but only for 6 months).

I would say the chances of getting this sort of work on a whv is between nil and less than nil.

For longer term, you need to see if the occupation is on one of the two lists and if you can pass the skills assessment for it. If it's not on the lists then there isn't any chance regardless of jobs available.

I would say the chances of getting this sort of work on a whv is between nil and less than nil.

For longer term, you need to see if the occupation is on one of the two lists and if you can pass the skills assessment for it. If it's not on the lists then there isn't any chance regardless of jobs available.