Calling all teachers

Guest Rbecca

Hi,

I am a primary teacher and I'm off to QLD in Feb. I think I will try to get some supply work and then apply for a pemanent post. If you have ANY help or advice including handy websites I would be eternally grateful if you could pass them on. I'm not even sure how to find the sort of stuff which is taught - all I can find are airy fairy philosophy of teaching and learning when I need the meaty bits. Do they 'do' the Romans and such like?

Appreciately

Rebecca

Guest austibeach

Well Rebecca, I noticed that spelling mistake straight away, shame on you :shock:

Anyway, if you try a Goggle search for "Curriculum in Australian Schools" it offers a whole host of links. The first link, I believe, is the Dept. of Education website for Australia.

Good luck and happy hunting,

Eric.

Guest spray21

Hi Rbecca - I'm a teacher too, although secondary. I teach history, and have been amazed at how similar the curriculum is in Australia - they even teach about Medieval Villages! Why?! Bizarre! On the plus side, not that much extra for me to learn - am ploughing through some Aussie history books at the moment in preparation!

I have been looking as NSW rather than Queensland, so the details will all be different - but I'dagree with austibeach and say do the google search, there are loads of sites.

Before you go, make sure you have certificates showing your degree and teacher training, and proof of previous employment in the UK. Maybe also statements from ex-colleagues etc, all to put in to a portfolio.

good luck!

WOW! Brave or what!