Healthcare Assistant

The Butlers

Hi All

I have an interview for a healthcare assistant job, I have never done it before.

I have heard that if I do NVQs it will stand for nothing in Oz.

Will work experience help.

Do they have work for healthcare assistants in Oz.

Thanks for your time.

Emma

Guest Mel P

Hi There, I have done this job since leaving school erm........17 years ago..... and have worked in lots of different posts from the elderly to the young disabled to severe challenging behaviour,but never done my NVQ and I have got every job I went for without it. I know it's becoming more essential in the UK, but NVQ in Oz ????? I was told that my skills over in Oz don't really count as my hubby will apply for our visa. But I still want a job!!!

I find that if you can put yourself in the other persons shoes, this usually helps at interviews. You know...when they ask you what you would do in certain situations, try to think that if it was you, how would you or you like your child or parent to be treated. And be people friendly and down to earth. Oh and if the interviewee is male...give him a nice smile and wink at him and make his day !! It works every time!! Good luck

They'll probably ask what you'll do in certain situations - just use common sense, what they'll want to hear is that you can use your initiative, will alert a senior memember of staff if there's a problem and that you'll work in a safe manner according to any policies that the place has, and if you're not sure of something ... you'll ask.

Confidentiality is a big thing .... you won't talk about people outside work and if a patient/client asks to tell you something in confidence you would tell them that if it's something you need to pass on or record you'll do so (this gives them the option not to tell you).

If they ask about NVQ - tell them you're prepared to study for any qualifications they think are appropriate to your job

Hi All