Emigrating to Melbourne as a young Insurance Broker

DanielLZ

Hello,

A bit of background info- I'm 24, and am looking to emigrate to Oz late this year/early next year. I work as an insurance broker, and have done for 3 years, which includes completing an apprenticeship gaining an industry recognised qualification. I also have A Levels.

Now, my trade isn't on the SOL, but is in the CSOL. I therefore understand that to permanently move under this trade, my only option is the Employer Nominated Scheme. Is anybody aware of any other permanent visas I could apply for?

With regards to finding sponsorship, how hard really is it? The internet seems to generally suggest it isn't too hard but I can't imagine that. What's the best way to go about finding sponsorship? Again, the internet searches I've looked at aren't too clear.

Your help will be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Its supply and demand and sorry I do not think that there are any shortages in the insurance industry. My daughter works for a large insurance company and entry level jobs are very competitive with lots of the competition having university degrees. Some brokers are large but a lot are just small firms and therefore not likely to sponsor anyone. If you were a land surveyor or some other kind of surveyor that is where the shortage is according to the paper. So have a nose around look for firms see read the local papers Age on Wednesday and Saturday, look at Seek and Career One. However do not be surprised if you receive no replies, replying to people is not a thing most Aussie employers do. Only to the ones they actually want.

If the occupation is only on the CSOL then the first stop is to see if any states are sponsoring it as that would mean a permanent visa. So you need to check out each states list.

If not and your only route is employer nominated then it is a matter of finding a company wiling to to sponsor. This can be the hard part. You can use job sites such as seek.com.au and apply for jobs.