Melbourne bound.......where to live??

andymitch7

Hey all,

Newbie here so hope you can help us out.

Myself, my partner and 2 kids (4,7) are arriving in Melbourne at the beginning of Feb as i have a new job here in the CBD :-)

We will be living in temporary accomodation within the CBD for the first month but need to find accomodation after that.

Our prorities are - getting a good school for our eldest, max 30 min commute via public transport to CBD, near the beach, and preferably a modern build of house.

Any suggestions or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

It depends whether you are going to go for private schools or not, really. Most of the good ( and expensive) private schools are in the Eastern suburbs. At your kids ages it probably won't be a necessity ( most primary schools are fine) so all you need is a nearby train line. A lot depends on how much money you have- the closer to the city the more it costs as a rule of thumb. I would be looking East rather than West, personally.

Modern build and 30 mins to the city do not really go together unless you want an apartment or town house and it will depend on your budget. An hour is more like the commute you would find what you are looking for and actually even living close in it sometimes takes an hour to get to work in peak times.

Frankston train line is the one to follow out and have a look at the stations on it and then check realestate.com.au for property.

If you look the other side of the Yarra try Williamstown, Altona and a lot of people like the new suburbs in the west like Sanctuary Lakes and Point Cook because of the new housing available.

Join up with the Life in Victoria forum there is a link at the foot of this one. A lot of the members are new to Melbourne and they will be able to help you with all the differences from the UK which are many

Good luck