Starting the process

maccakate

Starting the process and want to know what documents are needed for the skills assessment in the EOI (expression of interest). Myself and my partner are teachers and are applying for the 'skilled independent' visa.

cheers

macca

• 2 weeks later...

Also a teacher and I am in a very similar place to you. I am going to post my hello thread in a second!! :)

For my skills assessment I have already collated, university certificates, university transcripts (much easier than I thought it would be), references for the last 8 years of my teaching work. Basically letter headed paper confirming my employment and my responsibility etc. That's as far as I have got!!

Stay on touch as I guess we are going to be experiencing similar demands :)

I am a history teacher. Currently Assistant Headteacher in a secondary school in Reading. Keeps me busy. Will be aiming for Vice Principal or similar when the time comes. No easy task though. Got some work and networking to do before the time comes. Need to brush up on my legislation as well. I am pastorally experienced as well as academic modelling. So hoping I am transferable. My wife is a data manager. SIMs and PARS are her skill set.

You using a migration agent? Or going it alone?

I am head of year 11 so would hope to get something similar. I think it will be hard but I'm up for the challenge.

We're going it alone. Agents are expensive. My sister is in Perth and used an agent but once they had been through process, they said if they had to do it again, they would go it alone. The agent was particularly efficient either.

Did you get your head teacher to write a letter confirming your experience?

I only told her today I was going. Thought she was gonna go ballistic but we agreed a timeframe which is suitable for us. Luckily it was exactly the timeframe my wife and I have established. relief!!! I have asked her to be a reference for me.