im a 25 year old plumber moving to australia in april 2014,

alexd1987

hello to anyone who can help me, i am moving to Australia in April 2014, i am a fully qualified city and guilds levels 2 and 3 plumber. i need a point in the right direction, i am planning to fly to Sydney to seek work immediately. very easy going and loves meeting new people.

thanks, have you had your licence excepted yet! how do i arange to have it all done? is it done in england or australia?

Before you can get a licence, you need to pass a skills assessment which can be done in the UK. Then you do the gap course. Fees are here: http://www.vetassess.com.au/migrate_to_australia/ts_fees_payment.cfm

Should add, I'm not a plumber.

thanks, thats crazy money its very confusing

It's the same for electricians. On the plus side once you have your licence tradies seem to do really well here. It is illegal here for me to fit a garden tap, or doing anything more than change a plug..

thats ridiculas lol, im coming to oz on a working holiday visa, trying to find out if its worth it or not, would you recommend pursuing these qualifications?

TBH most people on WHVs end up working in bars, or fruit picking. You won't be able to work as a plumber without your papers.

NVQs mean nothing in Oz for the plumbing industry. You need to be Licenced (or Registered- the lower level of qualification) locally to get ANY work for the state that you want to work in. They all have slightly different regs. There are very heavy penalties if you're caught working for you and your employer without the correct Licence. In Vic, last year, I was told by a local plumber who emmigrated from the UK 10 years ago, that it was illegal for a 'plumbers mate' to even hand tools to a licenced plumber if that mate wasn't Registered.

http://www.pic.vic.gov.au/www/html/247-are-there-penalties-for-not-using-a-licensed-plumber.asp