IELTS. Academic or general

travelchic

Hi all.

I have completed an academic test with results L8, R7.5, W8.5 and S8.5. I needed 7's or above to have my skills assessed by ANMAC (I'm a nurse). I Am pleased that my skills can now been assessed, however, I needed 8's in all categories as I need the 20 points (it's an age thing). I have re-booked the academic test but my migration agent has said that a general test is sufficient. My big question is should I just keep the academic test or should I change it to a general? Is there much difference in the tests? Has anyone out there done both and can give me comparisons please.

Grateful mucho!!!

Debs x

I have a book but its mostly academic. As far as I can tell the listening and the speaking are the same for both. It's just the reading and writing that differs. Someone posted on here not so long ago with loads of links to help. Type in IELTS in the search box and have a look. I am sure one of them was a link to you tube.

I only took the test 2 weeks ago. You can take in pens, pencils, rubbers and highlighters. You can just carry them in or put them in a clear food bag. You can take in a bottle of water, has to be a clear bottle though. You have to leave your coat in a cloak room so wear a jumper if you're likely to get cold. You spend some time in the morning getting registered and seated. Exam starts about 9.45 and finishes about 1pm. That covers listening, reading and writing. When you are seated at your desk it will have your details on a piece of paper with a time to attend for your speaking exam. Mine was at 5pm which was a bore. Had to wait round all day. Hope this helps.

Debs x

Commander. I have got 2 sample writing teste in this book. They both have 2 tasks.

Test 1 - in 150 words write a letter to a shop manager to complain about a piece of kitchen equipment that does not work.

In 250 words write about the following topic. Some people think that it is better to educate girls and boys in separate schools.