Electrician visa but working as manager

Tilsbury

Hi everyone, looking for guidance with my visa application as an electrician (general).

The TRA skills assessment guidance states that I need to have completed 12 months employment in my nominated occupation, or in a closely related occupation where you are required to maintain your skill level for the nominated occupation, in the last 2 years immediately before applying.

I am a qualified electrician, having completed a full C&G apprenticeship at the age of 20 (I'm now 43), and have always worked in the trade but have worked my way up through my current company to a management role (electrical project manager) in an office position for the last 8 years.

Would anyone know if this constitutes a closely related occupation as I still need to maintain my skills and on occasion carry out manual work on site?

Hope someone can help as age is not on my side!

I don't think it will be classed as closely related.

I am a fully qualified electrician but now work as an electrical design engineer (consultant), I know that these occupants are not classed as being closely related by the oz government - crazy if you ask me!!!

Its all about unit groups. Occupants are grouped together, groups are identified by the first 2, maybe 3, numbers of the occupation code. To be classed as closely related it needs to be in the same unit group. I had a link saved but I can't find it now, I'll keep looking and post it when I find it - sorry its all a bit vague!

You may need to look at other occupations and find one which closely matches your work activities and how you meet the criteria they ask for.

Thanks for your reply - most helpful. Very concerned that this may be the end of the road for us but determined not to give up! Can't believe that my progression from electrician to a managerial position will end up being detrimental to my visa application.

At this stage I'd appreciate all advice that anyone can offer.