How long did your container take to get to Oz?

Littlesar70

Hi,

Newbie here, first post! We're due to head out to Oz mid April and plan to send out stuff early April, so it would be really useful to know how long your containers actually took to arrive?

We have had 3 quotes for 550 cft for groupage from Crown, Doree Bonner and PSS:

Crown - time estimate 12 - 16 weeks (verbal)

Doree Boner - 12 - 16 weeks (verbal)

PSS - 6 - 9 weeks (estimated, written on quote), 10 - 12 weeks (verbal)

I've phoned PSS to ask why they quote a shorter length of time and his response was that he couldn't understand why the others were quoting so long. Given that the cost estimates are all quite similar - £2800 plus AQUIS, I would go with the quicker company (PSS) so we don't have to sit on the floor for an extra month in an unfurnished rental!

However, how long do they really take?? :twitcy:

Thanks!

Guest Guest26012

Hi and welcome to the forum. I was just racking my brains to remember how long ours took and I think it was roughly ten weeks! Ours set off about three days before us. I'm sure you'll get lots of replies from recent immigrants, when oz wakes up.

The PSS time-line looks like a quote for a sole-use container, rather than for groupage/shared. I'd definitely not believe that short a time-scale for a shared container, although I'm just basing it on the stories I've heard and seen.

We had a 20ft container to ourselves and it took from 18-19/10/11 to 22/12/11 (i.e. the boys spent two days packing in Kent, UK, and it was delivered to us on 22/12/11 in Melbourne)

(and we had lots of timber and outdoor stuff declared so I'm sure they took a look at a few boxes)

We came over last summer with Anglo Pacific. Packed 20/8/12, arrived in Brisbane end of September. However, we had (and declared) several items of interest to customs and AQIS. They got through OK, but it delayed delivery to us until the middle of October. We used a sole use container.