Going "walkabout" OCT 2013

sammcgougan

Hi everyone, just applied yesterday for my WHV for the trip I've been working towards for the last 8 years.

I don't know where to go, what to do or anything really which is kinda the point I suppose. I've saved 30k and have the qualifications to attain a good job and citizenship if I decide to, so I'm free to do whatever the hell I like.

Only problem, I don't know where to start.

I'm going to buy a Van when I arrive so I guess I will need to get some sort of mailing address for registration and insurance purposes? Should I go with one of these agencies like Ozintro to get me started, anyone have any experience with the likes?

I want to travel, work and generally soak up every experience I can, for as long as I can get away with it while I assess if, and where I would like to move permanently.

Its a big place, where should I go first?

Wow, that sounds like you're going to have a massive year ahead of you! As for getting around it all... well, a van will definitely help with that. Since it's such a large place, perhaps it might be better to eliminate where you DON'T want to go first, any types of environments/locations that you don't want to be a far (like really hot or really cold). Then, I guess you've got 8 states, and 12-months, so divide the time up proportionally. WA has biggest land mass, but that doesn't mean it has the most towns!! Use your map of places you don't want to/don't need to visit and go from there.