Accounting work experience and 189/190 visas

jamescookson

Hello

I am starting to put together my EOI evdience for the 189 and 190 skilled migration visas. I am an accountant and so I intend to try and apply for the 190 visa in NSW (this is where i am currently living and working) in addition to the more flexible 189.

After graduating from uni with an economics degree I worked for 6 years as an acountant in the UK prior to travelling to Aus.

For the 1st 3 years I worked for a big four firm where i passed my accounting exams and gained the 3 years experience required to become chartered. This is standard in the UK and I think that you need the 3 years experience for other accounting qualifications such as CIMA.

I have spoken with the Australian Institute of Chartered accountants and it appears that they will only look at my employment history for the skilled employment assessment from the date that I became qualified. This also seems to be the case with the CPA.

This only gives me 3 years relevant experince in my skills assessent and therefore I will only achive 5 points on the skills slect score instead of 10 points that I had initially expected (for 5 years +).

The questions that I have are:

1) Will DIAC only look at the work expereince that is included within the skilled employment assessment? As such can I 'claim' the 10 points?

2) Has anyone else spotted/encountered this problem and if so was there a positive result? It seems nonsense to me that 3 years financial audit employment would not be assessed as it is highly relevant to my skills.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hello james,

In the same situation, and posted a similar question a few days back. I was given the following advice:

1. If you have a degree prior to studying your accounting qualification then CPA may accept work undertaken whilst studying for this. (i.e they may appove your 6 years experience)