Advice about moving to oz please.

Jambob1990

Hi all me and my partner and our soon to be born baby want to move to Australia, mainly for the same reasons as everyone: better standard of living etc etc plus my partners mother is living in Brisbane and due to get perminant res in December I think. My main question is how do we get there I'm a Cnc wood machinist and my partner works for aldi so not really too skilled. Going on a student visa has been suggested to us but with that we would o my be able to work part time and have to find childcare and pay course fees I expect so I'm not sure how possible this would be for us. I'm 22 and my partner is 24. Any advice would be much appreciated and just say I'd we don't have a cat in hells chance :D

thanks in advance, Jamie.

Hi and welcome to PIO.

You could see if CNC is still on the skills list and if so if you qualify for the PR visa. Id maybe call Visa Bureau or Go Matilda for a point in the right direction, the rules changed recently and its all wayyyy to confsuing for me now,lol.

Also if you search for a member named Heywood Monkey and look at his threads ,im sure he posted not too long ago and knows where there is work just outside Brisbane for CNC machinists.

Good Luck with everything, Brisbane sure is a fab place to move too, even if a bit chilly at the moment,lol

Cal x

What level of qualification a\re you in CNC wood machining Jamie? Do you have formal quals? A decent period of experience?

The trade itself could get you over to Oz if you meet requirements! Have a look at this link...

http://www.immi.gov.au/asri/occupations/w/wood-machinist.htm

If you meet the requirements it's just a case of finding the right employer willing to sponsor you. For that you need to get on the jobsites, put a CV together and speak to some agents.

Could well be possible for you all to come out on a 457 or similar visa.

Hope this helps

Cheers

Simon.