Melbourne via Thailand?

WelshBen

Hi folks.

My girlfriends and I have had our 176 VISA granted and are busy planning the move. My contract at work expires at the end of November and we are keen to move straight after this.

We are concerned that moving in December will mean securing work in December will be near impossible (I work in IT, her Marketing)? We are thinking have a few weeks in Thailand over Xmas, living cheaply whilst the Job Market is poor then moving to Melbourne early Jaunuary.

Has anyone done anything similar that can offer any advice?

Thanks!!

Hi thanks for the reply.

I've never been to Thailand but been looking at backpacker type hotels in islnds such as Koh Samui, Koh Toa and Koh Pha Ngan and the is around £15 - £20 per night (it does go much lower but I'm assuming it won't be the best :biglaugh:)

Is there anything I am missing? I'm not looking for luxury, just potentially a little adventure before my big adventure in Oz.

I have visited Thailand twice for reunion with family from Sydney. Although it's not as cheap as it was, I think you can still stay there much more cheaply than in Australia, where I have found the accomodation to be very expensive. We ate out earlier this year for aprox £5 for a single main meal - although I did come back with food poisoning so you pay your money and you take your choice .....

I think your thai Christmas sounds a good idea, but have you thought about Vietnam?

Hey Ben,