Where is the best place to live in Oz?!?!

Laura81

Hi, could really do with some advice please as to where to look to live in Australia?? I am a psychiatric nurse and my partner is an engineer in the brewery trade. We have been looking at Sydney as feel there's more going on there, however on looking at house prices seems expensive, is it a case of London prices over here or are there more affordable areas? I keep comparing prices to England but appreciate that the wages are alot better in Oz too. Many thanks x

What's the attraction of Sydney? The beaches, culture, sport, or work opportunities?

Melbourne is a bit cheaper, has a thriving cultural or arts scene. The beaches aren't as good, and the climate isn't quite as pleasant in winter. It's also a bit less bustling.

Adelaide is significantly cheaper, and counts as a regional centre if you're getting that kind of visa. It's smaller than Sydney and Melbourne, and I think that there's less going on too.

I don't know Perth, but I get the impression that there's less going on than Sydney and Melbourne. Prices are a bit lower, and it's benefiting from a shift if work from the East to the West with the resources boom. I believe that the beaches are good, as is the weather.

I haven't been to Brisbane, but I've heard of Sydneysiders moving up that way. Wages are a bit lower than Sydney, but living costs are down.

It really depends on what you're looking for.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Sydney doesn't appeal to me at all, i would love to visit there it looks fantastic, but not to live there, mainly due to costs, i think Brisbane and the surrounding areas would be my choice, loads to do and see, fantastic weather, incredible beaches and a more affordable cost of living.

Been to Sydney a few times now, spent far too much time in stationary traffic. It's fun to look at the harbour bridge and the opera house, but far too crowded for me. I must be getting old!

Guest Guest68570