Is Oz truly multi-cultural?

Guest arronludlam

Guest arronludlam

Hi

We are a family of 5 considering emmigrating to OZ as the multi-cultural appeal is a big draw.

My wife is of West Indian origin whilst my background is mainly european white and hence our 3 children are mixed race. We have read with interest a lot about how multi-cultural Australia is as a society but mostly on government web sites without having the chance to dig deeper.

I am interested in hearing from real people in Oz what kind of experience we might have i.e. how will the kids fit in at school, will we find problems with my wife and I fitting in.

To be clear - our sole purpose in coming is to fit in, live the australian way and make new friends.

Also I am guessing that some areas might be better for us than others, so I'd welcome any views on this, our key desires are (in order of preference):

1) Jobs - currently Im in IT but hoping long term to do something more outdoors based in Australia (possibly buy a franchise of some kind) - that said probably need to go where there are IT jobs to start with.

2) Sport - A big driver for us in moving to Oz is the sport cultural, in particular we need to be somewhere with a high interest in Rugby Union, ideally both professionally for entertainment and also with plenty of opportunities for youths to play (My son is a pretty useful number 6 in the UK)

3) On the coast - we love the beach, white sands and clear waters please

4) Low cost of living - we want to escape the the UK rat race and have less need to earn massive amounts of money to live in a small suburban house

At the moment Perth looks good from what Ive read but my only concern is for it perhaps being too isolated?

I look forward to hearing your views and thanks in advance

Arron Ludlam

Hi Arron

Welcome to PIO, I think Victoria would be better for you than Perth from what I've read there seem to be more jobs in IT but I could be wrong as i don't work in IT.