Stepdaughter - Wife has Sole Custody, still need a Statutory Declaration?

CaptainR

I'm a little confused with the requirements for a step-daughter. My wife has a court declaration showing Sole Custody, do we still have to obtain a Statutory Declaration?

It's a bit of a hassle if we do, because we don't have any contact with the step-father.

Guest Bazinga

I'm no expert but I am going to say no as long as he does not have parental responsibility then it is ok. The court declaration should be ok.

Just to add, I've really done my research on this (including getting professional legal advice & talking to someone at family court itself), if a father is not on the birth cert & doesn't have parental responsibility then you do not need a stat dec from them as legally as it stands right now this second they have no rights to your child. If they were to go thru a court and to get parental responsibility then that would change and you would need their permission (in most cases) to remove the child from the UK.

Edited by Bazinga

I have a 12 year old son from a previous relationship. His biological Father is named on his birth certificate but I have never received any maintenance from him and he has not seen my son since he was 2. As he was born before 2004 I have always had sole responsibility of my son, even though his biological father is on his birth certificate. I have changed his surname and obtained a passport without any problem. When I applied for my visa I stated all this in a letter and the c/o didn't ask for anything else. I'm guessing the court declaration will be fine.

• 1 month later...
Guest thehoe5