Help need on TAX related questions

smilingsenthil

Hi There,

We are currently living in Singapore and would like to migrate to a Autralian City at the earliest. I would like to know the answers for the below questions and all of them pertains to tax in Australia.

1. Firstly, how much I can bring in from my current country (singapore) to Australia ? Is there any limit ? Can I bring all my savings there ? If I do, should I need to pay tax for that money in Australia when I migrate there ? I'm planning to bring around AUD 100,000 as I want to buy a house in Sydney at the earliest. Should I need to declare this money while bringing in and also will it be taxable ?

2. Secondly, I'm a part time trader and a software enginner at the moment. However, I would like to explore the possibility of being a full time FOREX trader in Sydney. When I do so, what are the tax implications for my capital gains ? Will it be treated as individual income and falls under same norms or is there any special tax structure for captial gains. Would I be able to avoid paying more tax by setting up my own company and show the expenses for the company etc ? Please help on this as this would help me make my plans.

3. Thirdly, I have some earnings (like rentals, investments) in Singapore. After I migrate to Sydney, if there is any income from Singapore and if I want to transfer that to Australia , should I pay tax for that ? Please clarify.

4. Lastly, inorder to get our PR extended or to get Aussie Citizenship will the Aussie Governement look for any minimal earnings (like one must earn more than AUD 100,000 a year) or the extension of the PR has got nothing to do with one's earnings ?

Would be great to get these questions clarified.

Guest The Pom Queen

Can't help with your tax questions as I'm useless with my own.