Agency jobs in Melbourne - anyone had a positive experience?

Tea4two

Hi

Just wondering if anyone has had any experience gaining work with agencies in Melbourne or across Australia as a whole? It's only been 2 1/2 weeks since we got here but after days full of spending hours applying for jobs i'm becoming a little disheartened. I optimistically thought I could apply for long term roles direct with companies and take short term admin contracts with agencies whilst applying. I have emailed about ten agencies in Melbourne and not had one single reply...my background is all admin, communications/public relations and I have a 2:1 Degree in PR. So I thought I would be ideal for admin positions?

I decided to be a bit more proactive and so dropped in to the Hays offices in the city centre as i've previously used them back in the UK...I was told of a specific address to send my cv to. I thought I could have an appointment and sign up to the agency like i've experienced before but I was told this isn't how it works here. So I went home and sent another covering letter and attached my CV to the specific email address and received no reply. I called but the lady was out. So I forwarded the email again politely asking if I could arrange to come in to the office and sign up for available work. I received an email back almost straight away saying my cv didn't match their vacancies at this time. I emailed her back with regard to a few very basic jobs i'd seen advertised with them for short term admin positions and asking for advice if my cv did not fit with Australian ways (although I have amended it following guidance to meet Aus reequirements) but i've since heard nothing. I'm not sure they even looked at it.