Aircraft Engineer Avionics Advice Needed!?

elizawilliam

Hello! We are in the process of applying for a spouse visa (I am Australian, husband British). My husband is an aircraft engineer avionics with 22 years in the royal navy on Seakings. I have not lived in Oz for over 20 years. We are trying to find out what work there is likely to be for my husband in Oz and whether he should try to complete his licence before we go (he has started it but would take until Nov to finish). Is it better to go armed with the licence or start again in Oz? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Found a thread on aircraft engineers but was all about skilled migrant visas which doesn't apply for us.

I'm an incorporated mechanical engineer (NOT a car mechanic ;)) and think it is unfortunately unlikely that you'll get an answer on here - Many users are from more mainstream occupations and trades.

Having said that, I do remember one of those "Phil down under" or "Wanted down under" shows where a UK Qualified helicopter engineer had to re-train in Australia because they diddnt recognise his qualification.

However, they were happy to pay for it on the basis that he was contracted for a few years afterwards.

im an aircraft engineer in avionics, so there!

i didnt have a good answer so i kept my head down.

my family and i are in the process of migrating on a 176 using my trade, i am currently unlicensed, and intend to do the license in oz.

i would assume the courses are much the same, the aircraft obviously are, except the flying upside down thing.

so get them done asap while the books are still fresh in your memory.

good luck :)

im an aircraft engineer in avionics, so there!

i didnt have a good answer so i kept my head down.

my family and i are in the process of migrating on a 176 using my trade, i am currently unlicensed, and intend to do the license in oz.

i would assume the courses are much the same, the aircraft obviously are, except the flying upside down thing.