teachers in oz

Guest cash

hi everyone im a solicitor and am moving to oz soonish on a 457 subclass visa as i have a new job out there in QLD - my fella is a trainee teacher and is currently doing his PGCE course. He plans on joining me out there next june but he is a bit worried about jobs and is status so if any1 can help it would be greatly appreciated??

he worried about not being able to get a job as he wont be able to do his QTS as he will b coming out to me after his course so wont b able to do 1 year in a uk school - he knows that when he gets back to the uk (if and when we decide to come home) he will have to go back to the start but he is only 25 so that shouldnt b a problem but does anyone know what happens when we are in oz?

any help would be fab thanks!!!!!!!!

Hi there,

I am newly arrived in Melbourne and although my situation is quite different to your fellas I thought I would offer a few words of advice.

I have been a teacher for 8 years now and so was lucky enough to come here on a skilled 136 visa. I registered as a teacher with the state of Victoria before arrival and found that whenever I contacted them with queries, they were really quick to respond and very helpful. They even pre-read my reference to check it met their criteria.

Teachers have to be registered with the state they live in and I don't know anything about queensland but reckon searching this site Queensland College of Teachers should provide you with a few answers or at least someone you can contact for help.

Hope this helps a little,

Felicity:wubclub:

Guest leedschick

I'm a primary school teacher and have just (yesterday!!!) passed the teaching skills assessment. if he is applying in his own right, i think he needs the equivalent of a 4 year degree . I did 3 year BA plus PGCE. You also have to have the work experience which is 12 out of last 24months and 3 out of last 4 years.