In a sticky situation if anyone can help!

Stulatics

Hi,

Hope you are all well. I was just wondering if someone could help please.

I am a 31-year-old from England. I am a journalist by trade. I came here just over two years ago on a 417 visa. Just after I got here I found work at a small country paper in NSW. I have been on assorted bridging visas for about two years as my employer has tried to sponsor me, without success.

Our latest application for a 457 visa was rejected yesterday on the grounds that my potential sponsors are not an "approved" business. Apparently, they do not meet the designated amount for providing funds for training workers, so do not meet the guidelines. Again, apparently, my/our only course of action left now is to go to a migration tribunal. This could be a costly/time-consuming exercise.

It seems ridiculous. I know life isn't fair, but since I have been here I have paid taxes, abided by rules etc. My employers have never tried to sponsor someone before so don't know much about 'the rules' of sponsoring a foreign worker. They are also a small business in country NSW, which is something the immigration department does not seem to take into account.

I was wondering if anyone had been through these tribunals. If so, did they have success? Are they worth it? Does anyone know if there are any alternative routes I could go down or any visas I could apply for?

I know that the best course of action now is to try and contact a migration agent. If anyone can give me any advice now, though, I would be very grateful. The thought of having to leave Oz makes me want to cry. I just want to stay here, eventually get a job in Sydney and be with the person I love there. Going back home now makes me pretty scared.

Any help/advice would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Stuart xx

Guest Jamie Smith

Gday

There are ways of satisfying the employer criteria that are becoming well known to agents, sadly not every case officer shares the knowledge with applicants.