New Points Test Overseas Work Exp

Guest HappyTravels

Guest HappyTravels

I am getting very confuded about the work experience element of the new points test due to come in July 2011.

Will I get any points for work experience if I have three years work experience in the past five years - but 18 months of this was gained in Australia - which was more than 2 years ago so I cant get the Australian work experience, but can I still use this experience to get points. I would assume that I would - otherwise it would imply Australian work experience is less relevant?

I would need to get 8 points for my ILETS test if I my work experience doesnt count - which is not impossible, but I would prefer not to have the pressure of getting such a high score.

Are you looking at the NEW new points test? The one that was released today?

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/pdf/points-test.pdf

It reads:

Skilled employment

Points will be awarded for employment in a skilled occupation, either in Australia or overseas.

To claim points for skilled employment, the experience must be in an applicant’s nominated

occupation, or a closely related occupation. Where applicable, applicants can claim points for both

Australian skilled employment and overseas skilled employment under the points test.

Applicants will be awarded points based on demonstration of a verifiable skilled employment history

undertaken in the last 10 years as follows:

Australian skilled employment in their nominated occupation or a closely related

occupation.

Points Length of employment

5 One year

10 Three years

15 Five years

20 Eight years

Overseas skilled employment in their nominated occupation or a closely related occupation.

Points Length of employment

5 Three years

10 Five years

15 Eight years