Aircraft Mechanic - TRA advice

Guest pabloke99

Guest pabloke99

Hi all,

I am about to start compiling information for my TRA submission. I am an Aircraft Technician in the British armed forces and I am a little unsure as to the extent of the evidence that I need to provide in order to get the TRA approved first time. Do I need to go back 20 years or just give evidence of the last few years work? Have any PIO members encountered similar dilemmas or perhaps been unsuccessful with the TRA due to providing insufficient evidence?

All feedback gratefully received.

Many thanks, Paul

Hi all,

I am about to start compiling information for my TRA submission. I am an Aircraft Technician in the British armed forces and I am a little unsure as to the extent of the evidence that I need to provide in order to get the TRA approved first time. Do I need to go back 20 years or just give evidence of the last few years work? Have any PIO members encountered similar dilemmas or perhaps been unsuccessful with the TRA due to providing insufficient evidence?

All feedback gratefully received.

Many thanks, Paul

Hi Paul,

The assessing process for motor mechanics has changed as of 1 September 2007. It is now a two stage process. The first step involves a paper application in which you must go back to your first years in the trade, quoting as much details (and verifiying it) as possible. The formative years are crucial, even if you have been in the trade for 20+ years.

If you pass this stage, you will be invited to undergo a practical test. If you pass this test as well you will be granted a positive skills assessment, which you need in order to lodge a valid application for permanent residency in Australia.