mature student

Guest pictish

Guest pictish

Hi there,

I am looking at studying in the cairns area and have some questions regarding courses ect.

I am still unsure as to what course to take with the view of potential employment in OZ afterwards. There appears to be a shortage of many types of skills. I am currently a prison officer in scotland but before this I worked as a chef[ most kitchen areas upto headchef] as well as short stints in the equestrian world. I also have reasonable IT skills which could be expanded upon.

I have the required education to gain entry into university for a science based course but I was thinking of a college course diploma in IT or a trade. Are the diploma level 3/4 certs actually worth doing as the UK courses are actually cheaper to do HND./HNC /svq level 3.

Will employers take you on if you have the OZ certs or while you are at the college. Is it hard to get a work visa after your study visa.

thx,

Garry

Hi there,

I am looking at studying in the cairns area and have some questions regarding courses ect.

I am still unsure as to what course to take with the view of potential employment in OZ afterwards. There appears to be a shortage of many types of skills. I am currently a prison officer in scotland but before this I worked as a chef[ most kitchen areas upto headchef] as well as short stints in the equestrian world. I also have reasonable IT skills which could be expanded upon.

I have the required education to gain entry into university for a science based course but I was thinking of a college course diploma in IT or a trade. Are the diploma level 3/4 certs actually worth doing as the UK courses are actually cheaper to do HND./HNC /svq level 3.

Will employers take you on if you have the OZ certs or while you are at the college. Is it hard to get a work visa after your study visa.

thx,

Garry