457 Temporary Residence to PR

Guest Hornster

Guest Hornster

My occupation is a Group A professional on the VETASSESS programme.

After having lived and worked on a 457 employer sponsored visa for 2yrs, can I apply for PR myself or does my employer need to sponsor my PR?

Will I need to have my skills positively assessed by VETASSESS after the initial 2yr period has passed if I want to apply for PR?

Basically, I want the peace of mind knowing that I will qualify for PR after the initial 2yr period on the 457 visa.

Please and thank you.

Guest guest17520

If you don't qualify for an independent PR visa then you will probably need to get your employer to sponsor you.

If you have worked for 2 years on a 457 you don't need to get your skills assessed but if you want to apply for employer sponsored PR earlier than 2 year then you probably will need your skills assessed.

Have a look at the immigration website for more details:

Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 121/856)

The only relevance two years on a 457 has is that you would not need a skills assessment should you be eligible for permanent employer sponsorship and you have a willing employer.

Otherwise there is no relevance to having spent two years on the 457. A lot of people thing there is, it would be good if we could quash this myth as it can less to disappointment down the line.

Edit: Time spent on a 457 might help with points in a future skilled migration application if the employer does not wish to sponsor.

its also worth pointing out that working on a 457 is no guarantee that you will qualify for PR at the end of 2 years, the rules seem to change every 6 months and for instance if your occupation was dropped, a rule change or a change to your personal circumstances you could be back to square 1.