Parent Visa(s)

Guest SigmaBond

Guest SigmaBond

Heya experts and/or agents on this forum.

I am a permanent resident. My mum (not a permanent resident) has never been married and I am an only child.

I applied for a visa 103 for my mum a while ago - and we were told that there is currently over 20, 000 applicants in front of her in the queue, which is equivalent to a wait of 20 years (if not more). Ridiculous!

The 103 visa cost is in 2 installments - 1) $1735 and 2) $1510 (which is paid to the department just before the visa is granted, i.e. hasn't been paid yet).

My mum will be ready shortly to afford a 143 visa, which is also in 2 installments - 1) $1735 and 2) $37 965. Apparently there's only 30 other applicants for this subclass at the moment - equivalent to a few months wait.

My question is, when she's got the $37 965 handy, do we have to fill out all of the forms all over again and repeat the medical tests and start the whole process all over again to get the 143? Or can we simply change to a 143 visa by advising the department that she can afford the $37 965 for the second installment for a 143 visa?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Guest Guest31881

Medicals and police checks only last 12 months and you should not organise these until asked to by your CO.

Take a look at the parents thread, here is the link.

http://www.pomsinoz.com/forum/migration-issues/77756-brand-new-pio-parents-visa-thread.html

You may find the answer in there or if you post on that thread you will be talking to members who have gone through the process, Good Luck.

Heya experts and/or agents on this forum.

I am a permanent resident. My mum (not a permanent resident) has never been married and I am an only child.

I applied for a visa 103 for my mum a while ago - and we were told that there is currently over 20, 000 applicants in front of her in the queue, which is equivalent to a wait of 20 years (if not more). Ridiculous!