salary advice

kirra

hi

i work in IT in investment banking. In london i earn a basic salary of £72,500 + bonus + pens

i have seen on the boards people say times your uk salary by 2.5 to get your amount in $AUD to maintain quality of life. there appears to be plenty of work in sydney, but not paying 2.5 times! (boo!)

agencies are asking 'what are you looking for? :eek: looking at the market and jobs suitable for me it would appear about $140k pa is the going rate.

would that salary in sydney maintain financially what i am currently used to?

sorry to talk numbers..i need tho to have some straight talkin'

thanks

hi

i work in IT in investment banking. In london i earn a basic salary of £72,500 + bonus + pens

i have seen on the boards people say times your uk salary by 2.5 to get your amount in $AUD to maintain quality of life. there appears to be plenty of work in sydney, but not paying 2.5 times! (boo!)

agencies are asking 'what are you looking for? :eek: looking at the market and jobs suitable for me it would appear about $140k pa is the going rate.

sorry to talk numbers..i need tho to have some straight talkin'

thanks

Word of warning if you are thinking of giving up that type of salary for a move to oz make sure you have a contract signed sealed and delivered for the amount of 140k, agencies sometimes can promise a lot and not deliver.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

You need at least $2 to $1 and nearer $2.2 would see you right and when you got there the cost of living would be very similar to here in the uk. $2.5 to £1 is too much to ask, i read that post and to me who has been there in april this year, the cost of things is nearer to $2.2 to £1.

Best of luck and money isn't everything and on a wage of $130,000 plus, you will have a great standard of living in Australia, but Sydney is THE dearest place to live, so you might need more, especially the cost of houses.