Competency Demonstration Report (CDR)

rinny

Hi,

I'm new to this technology, so if this doesn't come out right or look right, please accept my apologies, however, my query is -

my partner and myself are currently getting together all the reqd. info to apply for a general skilled visa.

Unfortunately, my partner is a civil engineer in the UK, but does not have a degree, therefore he has been advised by our migration company that with the skills and experience he has he should try the CDR route under the Washington Accord.

Has anyone else gone down this route? How did it go?

Any advice would be gratefully received

Rinny:jiggy:

Hello Ahmad,

Thanks for your response, it is much appreciated.

Basically, Ian is a Civil Engineer in the UK, but doesn't have a degree, therefore he is classed as an "Engineering Technologist" however, our migration agent advised that they feel that his skills and experience warrant "Civil Engineer" and have advised that we pursue this route.

So, here we are. We have been on the Engineers Australia site and donloaded the booklet, so a report it is and hopefully whoever looks at it agrees.

Thanks again and fingers crossed

• 9 months later...
Hey,

I think you should start the process by e-mailing engineers Australia. Tell them that you will apply for a CDR based on experience, and not on qualifications. Ask whether they will accept file to undergo assessment or not. By visiting their website, you can also download their CDR booklet. It is pretty much helpful.

They approved my CDR in 2 days only. My case was opposite to yours. At the time of application, my CDR was 100% based on qualifications and academic projects, with no mention what so ever to practical engineering experience. So, I hope they will consider your application :)

I would not mind helping you when you decide to write your CDR if you needed me :).

I got my positive assessment in a record time.

CDR delivered to EA on May 26,