Housesitters - have you used one?

Elliott-Family

Hi

We have booked to validate our visas in may next year, :laugh:

our dogs will cost £17 per day in kennels (they have never been not even for a night)

and a housesitter has quoted us £20 per day to look after house and dogs.

This seems like a bargain to me and i feel the dogs would be happier at home, however i have never used a housesitter before and would be interested in your experience of one, either good or bad :wacko:

many thanks

Claire x

Guest siamsusie
Hi

We have booked to validate our visas in may next year,

our dogs will cost £17 per day in kennels (they have never been not even for a night)

This seems like a bargain to me and i feel the dogs would be happier at home, however i have never used a housesitter before and would be interested in your experience of one, either good or bad

many thanks

Claire x

Hi Claire, I think you may be talking about housesitters in the Uk and not Australia is that right because you are talking in pounds.?

House sitters shouldnt be charging you anything Claire, and if you are leaving your home for a period of time i.e. 4 weeks of more then they should be paying you for the electricity and gas (but this is your choice). They could be running up hundreds of pounds of service charges and this will add to your expensive trip to Australia.

They should be looking after your pets, plants and gardens (you purchase the animals foods naturally) and making sure that the place remains immaculate or certainly in the conditions you left it. Animals to be walked etc. Establish who is coming into your property i.e. only the people you have agreed upon rather than the house sitters's friends and families wanting a cheap holiday. All this has to be agreed upon and it does help if you had someone who could pop by just to keep an eye on things i.e. a neighbour/friend or family.