I don't know where to start?!

Woofyhugger

Hi Guys.

I'm Matt, and I'm an alcoholic. Oh sorry.. wrong forum.. ;)

I am a bit lost on where to start on my plight to return to the UK to live permanently.

A little about me. I was born in the UK (1971) and moved to Australia when I was 3 years old with my parents on their passport at the time (both parents have since passed on). I am now 38 and single with no family in Australia. I am also NOT an australian citizen, I just never felt a piece of paper would make me any more aussie than I already am. I am a permanent resident though, despite not being an australian citizen. (No one could ever tell.. I spill aussie slang every time I talk..)

I do not have a passport, as I have never left the country, not even for a holiday. Sad I know! But I have however seen everything Australia has to offer, and lived in most capital cities here. I'm bored here, and have a strong compulsion to go back to the UK and start afresh, I also have friends there, and some family I havent seen since I moved here many years ago.

My questions are.. where do I start in my quest to go back to the UK? Do I need to get a UK passport again? Once I get one, can I just "move back" and stay as long as I like because I am british national? Do I need other types of visas?

I just need to get the ball rolling with the documents that will allow me to move back.. but I am just completely lost.

Can someone please help me with some direction?

TIA.

Matt

Guest LondonGal
Hi Guys.

I am a bit lost on where to start on my plight to return to the UK to live permanently.