Can I set myself up in business?

Purple Princess

Hi all,

OH starts uni in Brisbane in Feb 2010 and I need to know whether I can set myself up in business when here semester starts.

If I can, am I still limited to only working 20 hrs a week or is there no restrictions if I employ an Aussie to carry out my labouring jobs, I have been using contracted labour in the UK for many years but I am not to sure on the working methods/ideals in what will be our new home country.Or would I be better off purchasing an existing business?

Any help would really help,thanks in advance

Rich:confused:

Guest neilalys

i know its the 20hrs a week thats hard, but ive already got some renovation work lined up around 8 weeks at 20 hrs , but cant find anywhere if you can employ or sub workers tried, ive tried tax people and diac, no joy, so im just getting a tax number and start on my own , and try to find out when im there and running,

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi RichSalt

Have you investigated/asked about Business Skills visas, at all?

Business - Visas & Immigration

Australian Business Skills Entry Booklet

I have just told you everything I know about them - ie they exist but I don't know anything else about them besides this.

You say that your Partner will be studying at Brisbane University. At what level? If she is doing a Masters or Doctourate by research then you can work for unlimited hours per week:

Postgraduate Research Sector: Temporary Visa (Subclass 574) - Assessment Level 1

Higher Education Sector: Temporary Visa (Subclass 573) - Assessment Level 1

A third possibility for you is that you might become eligible for a subclass 845 visa:

Established Business in Australia (Subclass 845)

Take a very close look at the Points test for it, though:

Established Business in Australia (Subclass 845)

It is not a common visa but it is not so uncommon that there is no point in its existence.

Cheers

Gill

Guest meganhannah