Migration Issues

oldjonah

Hi all

We (me, hubby and 2 rugrats) have just joined in the hope that you may shed some light on some issues for us :)

I am doing a degree radiography course at the moment and will be applying for a visa as soon as possible.

Do I have to have a years work experience even if I have a job offer?

How much does it cost to use a migration firm and would you use one or do it yourself?

Thanks all

Guest dave&donna

just thought i'd say hello and a big welcome because saw it was your first post.

Not an expert with different visas but somebody will have all the answers but i thought if you had a job offer then that's it. Obviously to get a job offer the company will know and be happy with your qualifications and experience, but for other visas you need more experience as well as qualifications.

If you're looking at job offers so sponsored employer visa then you probably won't need an agent but have a look on the immigration web site (www.immi.gov.au) and it'll give you more of an idea of the different routes you can look at and also show you if radiography is on the skills list. If you use an agent for the skilled visa then it's about £3000.

Good luck with everything and keep asking questions. :wubclub:

Donna x

• 2 years later...
Hi all

We (me, hubby and 2 rugrats) have just joined in the hope that you may shed some light on some issues for us :)

I am doing a degree radiography course at the moment and will be applying for a visa as soon as possible.

Do I have to have a years work experience even if I have a job offer?

How much does it cost to use a migration firm and would you use one or do it yourself?

Thanks all

Not that easy unfortunatelly. You do need work experience and also have to get your qualifications assessed. There are other matters such as your age that is part of the points test, do you want to say your age? If you have a job offer, would that employer be willing to sponsor you?

Cheers

Chris McGrath