www.blackhole@oz.com

Hi all,

Fed up from UK here.

Good news - permanenet vsa's now arrived. Bad news trying to get a job in advance of moving "down under".

Brief reveiw: I am a fully qualified Building Surveyor. Things are dire here in the UK and I believe are ok (but not brilliant) in Australia. However, have been doing the right things like seeking accreditation with the Australian Institute of Building Surveyors.

However its the big problem of no experience with Australian legislation and work. You need the expereince to get the job, but I need the job to get the experience - common scenario?!!

Anyway, I am prepared to drop down many rungs - even to trainne type level to enable me to get my foot in the door and retrain.

Thats not my gripe.

My big gripe is that I have taken some considerable time in tracking down companies that are seeking support staff, such as Technicians and Trainees and I have made representations. These have been carried out by email, primarily due to the time differences. What has wound me up is that I am only getting the odd reply - the vast majority do not even bother to reply. Even if it were to say thanks for your interest and politely decline, it would at least be some recognition.

Its really disheartening as with no feedback at all I do wonder whether its worth the effort of emailing blackholeinoz.com!

Any clues? Is it because I am still in the UK and do not have an Oz address; is it because I clearly do not have the skillset or as suggested the lack of expereince?

It puts concerns in my mind that even if I turn up without a job, will the same scenario continue?

I am lucky here in the UK and continue to have a job that pays pretty well. I am prepared to sacrafice that to get out of UK plc, but remain worried!

Vented now, so feel a bit better!!

Martin

Guest iselinger