Nice areas in and around Adelaide?

We hope to move to Adelaide May/June 2006 under the SIR visa (I am a teacher and my husband is a mechanical technician) and are waiting for our medicals next month.

We haven't yet visited the area (taking a risk, I know!) and wondered if anyone can tell me of any "nice" areas to live in both the city and suburbs. Any information would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

• 1 month later...
Guest blackcountrygirll

There are lots of nice areas here in Adelaide, do you , want to live near the sea or in the city or in the country areas, we live in Aberfoyle Pk, which is nice, its about 25mins to the city 20mins to the sea and about 5mins into the country, we have the best of all worlds, nearby suburbs are Flagstaff Hill, Coromandel Valley , Blackwood, Hawthorndene. THese suburbs are all in the south of Adelaide If you send me a personal message I will reply

blackcountrygirll

Sheila

Guest blackcountrygirll

Hi Mandy,

one thing I forgot to tell you, take a look in the local adelaide paper for houses and jobs

http://www.theadvertiser.com.au

http://www.careersone.com.au

Monday to Saturday

Sunday

thesundaymail.com.au

If theres any houses your interested in if you tell me the suburb, I can tell you what its like, it may be easier this way, you`ll find the cheaper the house the suburb won`t be as good, but you never know

Hope this will help you

Sheila

blackcountrygirll

• 2 weeks later...
Guest zibit_glass

Hi Mandy i am from lancashire walkden i came out to aus

1985 at 1st i was homesick cos i left me mates and girlfriend.

but i got a job i was 16 at the time.

21 yrs later i worked my ass off met a lovely aussie girl judy.

we got married at 21 had kids at 24 now we have a big house swimming pool big games room.

we bult the house back in 1990 now we have 2 kids good jobs both managers...

will live i good life style.

adelaide is i great place plenty of work if want it.