Meds Question

UKtoOZ

I have received a Case Officer.:jiggy:I am a nurse going on a 457 visa. My CO has instructed me and the kids to go for medicals. I asked about hubby and I have been told as he is not working in a hospital/classroom a medical is not required. Can anyone confirm this as I was under the impression that we all had to have medicals.

Also no police checks are required. Again I thought we had to have these done.

Oh well some money saved. :unsure:

Guest NurseFlo

Hi, am surprised about no police checks too and would double-check that....

As your fella is going on your 457, he only needs a chest x-ray. Only when you go for your PR do you all need full medicals. So, there's only you at this stage needing a full medical/bloods/CXR.

Good luck! x

Hi, thanks for that. I have queried this with my CO and she has replied that as the 457 is a temporary visa no police checks are required. She also has said that my hubby will not require a medical or chest xray as he is not in a classroom/hospital environment.

Feel so confused. :unsure:

Guest NurseFlo

well your CO knows better but I had to get police check done (only on me) for my 457 - although am wondering if perhaps this was for the hospital now.....hhhmmmm. My fella is coming on my visa and he works in IT (not that they asked) so no clinical/educational contact either but they did insist on him having a CXR.

Anyway, now that he's had that done, I've actually had it confirmed that he does have a heart (not just a swinging brick), so it was worth the 70 quid! x

can i hijack the thread for two seconds - do any of you know if you have to have your xray before your medical? i am having conflicting reports from the xray people and the medical people!! We have them both booked on thursday and taking a day off work but have been told now that the medical doctor needs the xrays prior to medical, if this is true it could be a totally wasted day!

Cheers for any clarity you can offer

Guest NurseFlo