Teaching in Queensland

Guest col&dee

Guest col&dee

Hi everyone,

I am a qualified Primary Teacher and am hoping to move to Brisbane within the next few months. I have had a look on Queensland Education Department website but was wondering if anyone has had any experience of finding teaching work in Brisbane? Is it possible to get registered before you get there? Is it really difficult to find a permanent teaching job, do you have to rely on casual work?

Thanks

Dee

Hi Dee

Im a primary school teacher too. I worked in some schools about half an hr from Brisbane when I was travelling around oz on a working holiday visa in 04. I registered with the Queensland board of teaching in the UK then registered with the Tracer system for Casual work when I arrived. Education Queensland provide you with the Tracer details. It was really good and quite a lot of work this way. I also went to Protocol supply agency in Brisbane itself, which works with the private schools. They were lovely but didnt get any work through them. I also sent letters with my CV attached to surrounding schools and the ones that were very near I personally went in and delivered my CV too them. I have heard that its quite difficult for pommy teachers to get perm jobs in Oz and you have to gain points before you are given a permanent job. I havent found any concrete info about this and I presume it differs from state to state.

We have just started our immi process, you must be fairly well on with it if your moving out in the next few months...very envious! We want to live on the Sunshine Coast if poss as OH has relatives in Brisbane. Where abouts are you wanting to live?

Its great to hear from another primary teacher!

Rachel

Guest col&dee

Hi Rachel,