Take home pay concern

Guest Aus Hoodies

Guest Aus Hoodies

Hi all, I'm new to this so please be gentle with me!

I have recently been offered an employer sponsored visa (457) to the Melbourne area. This after being knocked back every time we tried for the residential visa.

Salary is around $65k but I cannot get a definitive amount which will be deducted from this to leave with a take home amount.

Any one offer an opinion on what I will have left after Mr taxman has had his slice?:twitcy:

Hi all, I'm new to this so please be gentle with me!

I have recently been offered an employer sponsored visa (457) to the Melbourne area. This after being knocked back every time we tried for the residential visa.

Salary is around $65k but I cannot get a definitive amount which will be deducted from this to leave with a take home amount.

Any one offer an opinion on what I will have left after Mr taxman has had his slice?:twitcy:

You will have a bit more than $4k a month, if your employer is happy to offer the Living Away From Home Allowance (LAFHA) there are great tax benefits which will see you earn just short of $5k per month.

Just going by what I make on a monthly basis, sorry I can't be more specific.

DSL

This will probably sound confusing (it did to me) but its actually quite straightforward.

You cannot actually claim it yourself, your employer has to do it for you so if they are not prepared to do it then you cannot do it yourself. I know a few people whos employer cannot be bothered with the hassle. Best drop you employer an e-mail just to make him aware of it or find out if it something they are prepared to do.