IT skills question

mattyegg

Hello All

Looking for a bit of advice from any IT people out there.

Me and the wife are looking into moving to OZ on a skilled migrants visa.

I work in IT (mainly support and network administration/management) and have done so for 5 years.

I don't have a degree in computing but have a good few Microsoft Qualifications and should be completing my skills set by passing final exam to get my MCSE qualification.

I was wondering if anyone has been in the same boat as me where they don't have a degree but similar MS qualifications and if they would be enough for me to be granted a skilled migrants visa.

I've checked with a few agents and they say 6 years and my MCSE should be enough.

Any advice much appreciated.

Mattyegg

Guest LX_RV86

Hi:

My brother and I both have ICT degrees, but experience is more valuable than degrees, especially MSCSs, which are really sought after! On our skills assessment forms, it's not even asked me for details of my ICT degree, just teaching experience (I'm an ICT teacher, brother is a network admin/web designer/project manager) they are very interested in on the job training and any practical capabilities.

Sorry I couldn't be more help, we're just starting the process ourselves :-) but our agent's paper work has more emphasis on MSCEs, vocational training, expeirence more than anything else.

While over on a recci in Oz, we found out that Microsoft Certification (and Prince if you're going into management) are what employers look for!

Guest stockies

My OH is an IT Manager,he had a degree in applied computing and a Ph.D. We have used Peter Chiam from Ptlabs consulting as our agent he has a very good understanding of the ACS. It may well be a good Idea to have a chat with him......sorry I cant be of more help......Good luck.

Claire. XX