New to forum Please help (Gas Man)

Guest DEAN

Hi all Im new to the forum, but ive picked up some good tips from reading every one elses problems, thanks. So here is my own Im a British gas engineer & my partner and I with our young son are going through the process as a skilled migrant, but we are not sure where the work would be for me, its not as if you need central heating in OZ can any one help, Cheers Deano

Display posts from previous: All Posts1 Day7 Days2 Weeks1 Month3 Months6 Months1 Year Oldest FirstNewest First

Guest davilou

:D hi dean,my name is dave & i am also a tech eng with BG.i am a bit further on with the visa process than you,police and med checks done,so just waiting for final e-mail.Iam going to Adelaide and have been advised that i will be able to work under supervision with current uk qualifications but to recieve an'unrestricted licence' i will have to take two courses,one in gasfitting and one in estimating.i am not sure about other states requirements.hope this helps,dave

[

Cheers Dave where did you find out that you will need supervision, we are thinking of Victoria area, it seems to be colder there.

What patch do you work on Im on Central Lancs (Burnley). But I also worked down south in Luton.

Guest davilou

Hi Dean, this is the e-mail that i recieved regarding gas licencing in South Australia;

Good Morning Mr Cavaghan,

To obtain a Gas Fitters Workers Registration in South Australia there are 2 stages;

First of all, if you come into our office when you arrive in South Australia with all relevant documentation such as your City and Guilds certificates etc, we will be able to grant you with a licence stating : Gas Fitter Workers Registration- to work under technical direction of registered gas worker. If we don't find your certificates to be sufficient, we will ask you to have a skills assessment at Regency School Of Plumbing.