Ileosomy and Working Holiday Visa

IrishStoma

Hi all,

I’ve been thinking about moving to Australia from Ireland sometime at the beginning of next year on a working holiday visa. My only concern is that I have ulcerative colitis and as a result of that, an end ileostomy.

Despite having both of these, I am in good health overall. Since having the subtotal colectomy in September 2021 I have had no heath issues or hospital trips and the only thing I require is my prescriptions for the stoma supplies.

I was wondering if this will be an issue when applying for a visa and what the options are for obtaining stoma supplies in Australia. I currently pay €80 a month on them now and would be happy to continue paying.

Thanks for your help.

• Like 1

Hi, I'm no expert on this matter so the following information is from a bit of Googling etc...

'Applicants for an Australian working holiday visa (subclass 417 or 462) are generally not required to undergo a medical examination as part of the visa application process. However, please note that immigration policies and requirements can change over time. It's always a good idea to consult the official website of the Department of Home Affairs for the most up-to-date and accurate information regarding visa requirements, including any potential medical assessments.'

Australia has an Stoma Appliance Scheme which provides fully-subsidised stoma appliances and products to people who have a stoma or fistula. If I have read the information correctly then I think you might be able to access this for free. Please see below.

To be eligible for free stoma appliances and products under the scheme, you must have a stoma and have a current:

• Medicare or Department of Veterans’ Affairs number if living in Australia
  • Australian Reciprocal Medicare number if you usually live in a Reciprocal Health Care Agreement country, or
  • passport number if you usually live in New Zealand or the Republic of Ireland.