Advice for which VISA pathway to choose (189 / 190 / 491)

OzLover

Hello,

I am a Physiotherapist with 10 years of experience, aged 36, looking to migrate to Oz with my husband (who is a dentist and has excellent English skills, and he's 35 with 10 years of work experience)

We would like to move permanently to Australia in the next few years, and are trying to understand a clear path (easiest one?) to do so, we are open to all possibilities

As far as we can understand:

- His job (dentist) isn't on any long-term skills list any more and is only suitable for a temporary regional visa

- Which means we would have to lodge an EOI under my job (Physio), so 189-190-491 could be possible pathways?

- I checked with a point calculator I should be able to get 80 points

- We are open to a change in jobs if it is necessary to get the PR (I've read several articles citing jobs with lots of vacant spots like carpenter / panel beater?)

- I am an excellent cook / pastrychef, which I have been doing as a hobby in the past several years. My husband is an excellent programmer

- We particularly love Queensland but are open to other states (we loved South Australia as well as NSW and Victoria so it's not an issue)

Based on this information, after things "normalize" this summer, what do you think would be the most feasible pathway to PR?

Thanks

I'd say, forget the change of job idea.  It would take you several years, because you'd first have to gain the specified qualification, and then spend a few years gaining relevant experience (any experience pre-qualification doesn't count).  There's always a risk your chosen new occupation will be removed from the list by the time you're eligible (occupations are getting removed all the time). 

Besides, being awarded a visa is nothing to do with whether jobs are available. If you already have an occupation that's on the list, it won't give you any advantage to swap to another one.