Trader or Investor - for Tax purposes

Tom Katxell

Hi guys,

I have a couple of questions about tax for trading profits. Could you please help me with this:

1. I have scenario where I am not sure whether I am a trader or a investor from tax perspective. Per my understanding, a trader tax is for someone who has positions open less than 12 months. And to be an investor, one has to hold positions for less than 12 months. Is that correct understanding ? 

2. Further, if the understanding in point 1 is correct, then I am perhaps a trader from tax perspective. However, for one to be trader, one has to also have a detailed business plan, and, log of all trades and the reasons for entering the trade etc. I do not have all these. I simply trade casually and close the position in a few weeks. So does this qualify as a trader ? 

5. When calculating tax, should it be on the net profits ? i.e. if there were 20 trades made of which 15 resulted in profit of 15k and 5 resulted in loss of 5k, would the tax be on the net profit of 10k or would be on the profit from the profitable trades i.e. 15k profit would be taxed ?

6. When I asked about doing taxes with an accountant (did not ask the above questions because of the reason that follows), they said they would need to look at all the trades I made to determine the tax. However, I do not want to disclose the trades to the accountant. In general, does one need to disclose the trades to the accountant or can tax be done with it? If I need, how do I keep the trading strategy to be confidential when doing the tax at the account ? 

Thank you

Are you talking about Australian tax or British tax?  Where are you resident for tax purposes?

I have no idea whether this is a reputable website or not, but I found this:

https://www.daytrading.com/taxes/australia