Working Remotely back in UK - anyone doing this?

lima53

Hello All,

After almost 12 years living in Brisbane we have decided to move back to the UK, probably next year now as we are waiting for the current situation to improve.

I work in IT development and have been at the same company for 11 years.  I have always had some flexibility with working from home and due to recent events I (along with the rest of the company) have been doing so permanently for the last few months.  This has proved very successful and as a result, the department are looking at implementing this on a permanent rostered basis for everyone.  We also have a few employees who work remotely but live interstate. 

My question is this.  I am hoping to approach my company about the possibility of letting me work remotely back in the UK.  I would like to know whether anyone has done this?  What are the implications with regards to tax?  Do you get paid in AUD or Sterling? Also, how did you manage the time difference?  This is the only downside I see.  My guess would be that I would have to do the Australian hours so that I can 'participate' within the team which would mean I would be doing the 'graveyard' shift back in the UK.

Any thoughts / information / advice greatly appreciated. 

Thank you! 

• Like 1

I am self-employed and work for overseas clients all the time.   I guess it depends on the nature of your work, but I find the time difference only matters for meetings, phone calls and texts.   It actually works quite well for other things, because responses can actually feel faster. Say they send a query on Monday night - if you were in Australia, you might not even open it till Tuesday morning.  Whereas if you're in the UK , you open and action the email during their night time, and your response is waiting for them the next morning.